Gamma Sigma Delta

Winter 2002 Business Meeting Minutes

Gamma Sigma Delta Business Meeting -- January 17, 2002
Submitted by Susan Sponcil, Secretary

After a reception, the meeting was called to order by President Lee Edgerton. Twenty members were in attendance. Secretary Susan Sponcil presented the minutes from the Fall 2001 business meeting. Roy Smith moved the minutes be accepted; Kim Ragland seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

Treasurer David Debertin presented a proposed budget for 2002 and reported that 107 members have paid calendar year 2002 dues as of today. The chapter=s financial picture looks brighter now than at this time last year. The lecturer series costs will be reduced due to the use of in-house award recipients as presenters. Dr. Debertin encouraged department representatives to visit with members who have not yet paid dues. No expenses were included in the budget proposal for an officer=s travel to Conclave in June. Mary Marchant will be in attendance as International Historian and could serve as our representative. After discussion, Deborah Witham moved to approve the proposed budget with the executive board to determine Conclave attendance. Roy Smith seconded, and the motion passed.

Old Business

Fund-raising Report: Five commitments of $1,000 each have been received to date for our endowment effort; the Founders= group is now halfway to its original goal.

New Business

Distinguished Lecturer Series: The Spring 2002 lecture series will be presented by Robert Houtz, James Jackson, and Lee Meyer, the recipients of the Thomas Poe Cooper Award for Research, the Gamma Sigma Delta Master Teacher Award, and the M.D. Whiteker Award for Excellence in Extension, respectively. Dr. Meyer will present his lecture on February 15, 2002 in the Gluck Equine Research Center Auditorium at 3:30 p.m. Dr. Jackson=s lecture is scheduled for March 7, and Dr. Houtz will speak on March 21.

Award Nominations: Applications are available on the chapter website; the deadline has been extended to February 1. Discussion of the criteria for the Outstanding Alumni Award centered around the Kentucky residency requirement. David Debertin moved to direct the awards committee to include candidates from all geographic locations, consistent with the bylaws of the organization. Wilbur Frye seconded, and the motion passed.

Banquet Committee: Cindy Finneseth reported that the banquet committee is working on details such as theme, decorations, and menu based on notes from previous banquet files. The ticket price has been established at $17 per person. The banquet will be held on March 26 at the Fayette County Extension Office beginning with a reception at 6:00 p.m. followed by the banquet and program at 6:30 p.m.

Membership Committee: Chris Thompson presented the slate of nominees for membership. After discussion and the addition of one nomination from the floor, Kim Ragland moved to accept the nominees; Chris Schardl seconded, and the motion passed. Discussion centered on the need to increase the invitation acceptance rate. As follow up to the invitation letters, postcards will be sent to the nominees who have not responded as of one week prior to the deadline. Also, letters will be sent to department chairs and department representatives, asking them to encourage their nominees to accept membership.

Officer Elections: Mary Marchant, chair of the nominating committee, presented the slate of officer candidates: Secretary, Susan Sponcil and President-Elect, James Jackson. Wilbur Frye moved to accept the slate of officers; Joe Williams seconded, and the motion passed.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Susan Sponcil
Chapter Secretary