University of Kentucky College of Agriculture
Join us Online!

Contact Us via e-MailContact us

Find Us on Facebook Facebook

Follow UKHES on Twitter

School of Human
Environmental Sciences

102 Erikson Hall,
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY
tel: (859) 257-3887

HomeSchool › Hall of Fame


Hall of Fame 2014

HES Hall of Fame 2014

The Human Environmental Sciences Hall of Fame honors those who maintain a dedicated commitment to the betterment of their professions, their local communities, and to the School of Human Environmental Sciences (HES) at the University of Kentucky. The HES Hall of Fame inducted its first honorees in 2000.

October 17, 2014 – Schedule of Events

1 p.m.   HES Hall of Fame Seminar
128 Erikson Hall
Open to students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends.

Link to Livestream

The seminar will feature 2014 inductee Peggy Hurt Powell and 2005 inductee Dr. Sue Hicks Whitaker.


3:30 p.m. - HES Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Hilary J. Boone Center – University of Kentucky campus
Reception and dinner to follow ceremony



Purchase dinner tickets online.


2014 Inductees

Peggy Hurt PowellPeggy Hurt Powell
B.S. Home Economics (Berea College)
M.S. Human Development and Resource Management (University of Kentucky)

Peggy Hurt Powell recently retired from her position as Montgomery County Extension Agent for Family and Consumer Sciences after working for more than 40 years with the University of Kentucky as an extension agent and specialist. Powell received a Bachelor of Science in Home Economics Education from Berea College and a Master of Science in Human Development and Resource Management from the University of Kentucky. She has been involved in countless programs and activities covering a wide variety of topics and exhibited a strong dedication to serving families throughout her career. She served as president and vice president of the Kentucky Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (KEAFCS), and received numerous recognitions for her programming and leadership. She served as president of the Kentucky chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi, and received that organization’s Visionary Leadership and Distinguished Service Awards. Powell has been active in the Mount Sterling Rotary Club, Montgomery County Education Foundation, Montgomery County Youth Service Center Advisory Council, and the Gateway Aging Council. In 1994, Powell received the Mount Sterling-Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce’s Woman of the Year Award. In 2010, she was named the Extension Educator of the Year by the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.


Pauline Park Wilson KnappPauline Park Wilson Knapp*
B.S. Home Economics (University of Kentucky) 1929

Pauline Park Knapp received her B.S. in Home Economics from the University of Kentucky (UK) in 1924. She completed her M.A. and Ph.D. in Psychology at Columbia University. In the early years of her career, she established the first child development center in the state of Georgia. In 1935, she laid the groundwork for the establishment of a permanent nursery school at UK which continues today as the Early Childhood Laboratory. Dr. Knapp served as head of the Department of Family and Life at the University of Alabama and as Dean of the School of Home Economics at the University of Georgia. In 1952, she was named president and director of the Merrill-Palmer School. During her years as president, she broadened the school’s emphasis on parent education and increased research on applied child and family issues. She facilitated a name change to the Merrill-Palmer Institute and oversaw the largest increase in student enrollment and faculty appointments in the history of the institute. Dr. Knapp earned national and international recognition in child development and family relations. Her work was well-published, and she was often called upon to speak regarding the field of home economics, early childhood education and the education of women.


Photo Credit - Walter P. Reuther Library, Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs, Wayne State University.

University of Kentucky, College of Agriculture, An Equal Opportunity University
Copyright 2011, Questions/Comments - Last Updated: March 13 2013 14:51:04